2010 Awards Banquet

Information about the 2010 SDSA Awards Banquet.

2010 SDSA Community Leadership Award - Nickie Valdez & Deb Myers

Nickie Valdez and Deb Myers have been partners for 24 years.

Valdez was one of five founders of Dignity San Antonio, a GLBT Catholic advocacy and support group.  In the 1970's, she was a founding member of Forward Foundation, which organized the first Gay Pride Parade and ministered to inmates at the Bexar County jail.

In the 1980's, Valdez worked to create the Trinity Council to bring together local GLBT friendly churches and educate the community in self-acceptance and self-worth.  She was a founder of the San Antonio Lesbian/Gay Assembly to advance GLBT issues at the local and state level.

Valdez' work extended beyound religious issues, into HIV/AIDS awareness, Esperanza Peace and Justice Center, the National Organization for Women and the advancement of people of color.  She organized PRO San Antonio, an interfaith network of GLBT friendly clergy, churches and lay people.

Myers has served on the local, state and national levels of Dignity USA for the last 24 years.  The majority of her time has been spent on the Liturgy Committee that organizes the liturgy and music for the weekly mass.  She is a moderator for the Progressive Religious Organizations of San Antonio and has worked with the group since it's founding in 2006.

In addition to her advocacy work, Meyers served on the Archdiocesan Justice and Peace Commission, the Archdiocesan Anti Violence Effort Committee and the Mayor's Commission for a More United San Antonio under former Mayor Ed Garza.  She is a physical therapist at University Hospital.

2010 SDSA Volunteer Appreciation Award - John Courage & Zada True-Courage

John and Zada are straight allies to the GLBT community and have given much to the Democratic Party and to Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio.  Both have served as Precinct Chairs to the Bexar County Executive Committee.

John has run for public office three times.  Zada is a former SD 25 committeewoman and helped to develop a grassroots handbook for the Texas Democratic Party.  Both have given presentations at the Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio meetings.  John is a public school teacher in the San Antonio Independent School District who works with special needs children.

Zada works as a treasury professional at a financial services company.  John and Zada have four children and are especially close to the GLBT community through their close relationship with Zada's lesbian cousin Martha and her partner Margaret.

The Courages are community leaders who say they are working to turn Texas blue.

2010 SDSA 10th Anniversary Banquet a Big Success

 Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio 10th Awards and Anniversary Banquet was a big success.  The banquet was held at the Hilton Airport Hotel on Saturday, September 25, 2010.  The keynote speaker was Chuck Wolfe, President and CEO of the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund and Leadership Institute.  Special Guest Linda Chavez-Thompson will also spoke and Carlos Guerra, former columnist with the San Antonio Express-News, served as Master of Ceremonies.  See pictures here (courtesy of Ted Switzer).

We honored the following award recipients:

Community Leadership Award:  Nickie Valdez & Deborah Myers
Volunteer Appreciation Award:  John & Zada True Courage
Special Achievement Award:  Roberto Flores

We also honored our founders:  Roberto J. Flores, Dan Graney, Norma Martinez Rogers, Nancy Russell, and Dee Villarrubia.

Many thanks to our sponsors!

Presenting Sponsor
Thomas Duckworth

Gold Sponsor
Linda Allen and Peg MacPhail

Silver Sponsors
Congressman Charles Gonzalez
Marilyn Graham and Sheila Korte
Dan Graney & Roberto J. Flores
Marty Whitehead & Pat McGuire
Nico LaHood (Candidate for District Attorney)
Dr. J. Lynne Armstrong and Olga Hernandez
Eric Alva & Darrell Parsons, LCSW

Bronze Sponsors
Bryan Gerard
State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon
State Representative Jose Menendez
Elena Guajardo
Cris Ramirez and Bonnie Dietering
Kevin Voelker
Judge Maria Teresa Herr
Tim Ybarra (Candidate for Bexar County Clerk)
Dinorah Diaz (Candidate for 187th District Court)

2010 SDSA Special Achievement Award - The Honorable Roberto J. Flores

Roberto J. Flores is a native of Corpus Christi, Texas, and was ordained a Roman Catholic priest of the Franciscan order in 1965.  He served in various parishes and administrative posts and was a founder of PADRES, an organization of Chicano priests.  He met his partner, Daniel Graney, in the lower Rio Grande Valley in 1974 and the couple has been together 36 years.

Flores obtained his masters degree in psychology at Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, and then he and Graney moved to San Francisco where they lived and worked from 1975 to 1977.  They then moved to Houston where they lived for 15 years until moving to San Antonio in 1992.

Flores worked as an adjunct faculty and counselor in the Disability Services Center at San Antonio College before retiring in 2006.  He was a founder of Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio and has served as co-chair of SDSA the past two terms.  He was a Democratic Party precinct chair in Bexar County from 1999 to December of 2009, when he was elected the first openly gay County Chair of the Bexar County Democratic Party on an interim basis and served in that capacity until May of this year.  He has been a delegate to every Texas Democratic Convention since 2000.  He also has many years experience as an election judge.

Five activists to receive Stonewall awards

Five activists to receive Stonewall awards
QSanAntonio.com, August 20, 2010

The Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio this week named five local activists who will receive awards at their annual banquet set for September 25 at the Airport Hilton Hotel.

The banquet will also mark Stonewall's tenth anniversary. The occasion will serve to honor the group's remaining "living founders" which include Roberto J. Flores, Daniel Graney, Dee Villarrubia, Norma Martinez Rogers, and Nancy Russell

Following is the list of Stonewall's 2010 awards and recipients.  (See full article on QSanAntonio.com).
Copyright © 2013 Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio. All Rights Reserved. Political Advertising Paid For By Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio.